Student and faculty honored with Spanish awards

Author: Charlene Dundek

Members of the ND community will be honored by the Indiana Chapter of the American Association of Teachers of Spanish and Portuguese this upcoming week.  The awards ceremony will take place on Saturday, November 7th during the AATSP Business Meeting, which is part of the Indiana Foreign Language Teachers Association Conference.

Erin Tully will be honored with the 2015 Indiana Outstanding College Student of Spanish Award.  Professor Herrera, IN chapter president, stated "Your academic excellence, interest for the culture, community service, overseas work and astonishing passion were evident in the nominations sent by your professors." 

Rachel Parroquin will be receiving the AATSP 2015 Indiana Teacher of the Year Award - University Category.

Marisel Moreno will be receiving the 2015 EXTIMO (Exceptional Teaching Impact and Motivation) Student Voice Award for Outstanding Spanish Teacher.

Past state level award winners involved with Spanish CBL include: Jason Hoard and Adam Stepanovic - 2014 Indiana Outstanding College Student of Spanish Awards, La Casa de Amistad - Indiana Campus Compact Outstanding Community Partner Award 2013, and Marisel Moreno - Indiana Governor's Award for Service Learning 2011.

Recent press includes: